Salsa Vs. Hot Sauce: What’s The Difference?

3 12 2008

Ever wonder what the difference is between salsa and hot sauce is? Whenever I’m at a taco shop I constantly hear my friends mistakenly ask for “the salsa.” Usually, I cringe (on the inside) and pass the hot sauce.

Once in a blue moon I’ll eat tortilla chips and a friend will ask if I like “hot sauce” with my chips. I know that person meant salsa, I also know a single teardrop simultaneously fell out of an old Native American man’s eye for all the pain caused to mother earth for that mistake.

Allow me to clarify:

This is hot sauce:

Taco_Shop_Talk-Hot_Sauce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is salsa:

taco_shop_talk-salsa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please allow me to also clarify: Yes, I do have a lot of friends that magically appear when I’m eating.


Actions

Information

2 responses

12 01 2009
Jamie

My son is refusing to eat the “tacos” I made because I put Salsa on it instead of “taco sauce”. The only difference I can see is in the consistancy. Is there any comments out there? I can’t seem to find the “difference” on the internet.
Thanks,
Jamie

7 04 2009
tacoshoptalk

Jamie, I must start by asking “what kind of tacos are you making?” Secondly, how old is your son? I only ask becuase I never heard of “taco sauce,” which leads me to believe that your son is teen or pre-teen and isn’t able to articulate what kind of sauce he actually wants. I’m also led to believe that he’s young by the sheer fact that you’re still making his dinner (but that’s another subject for another blog). Also, where else has you son eaten this mysterious “taco suace?” At a local taco shop?

After you answer some of those questions I can definitely help you serve what your son wants.

Leave a comment